National Football League announces 2021 Coach of the Year nominees Don Shula NFL High School


The 32 finalists for the 2021 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year award are some of the best the sport has to offer. Thursday the NFL announced the finalists for the prestigious award named after the National Football League’s all-time winning coach, who was inducted into the Professional Football Hall of Fame in 1997.

The coaches (below) have been recognized by their local NFL club for their character and integrity, leadership, dedication to the community, commitment to player health and safety, and success on the field.

“This year’s 32 nominees for Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year represent the crucial role that high school football coaches play in positively shaping players’ character,” said Alexia Gallagher, vice president of philanthropy of the NFL and Executive Director of the NFL Foundation. “We are proud to honor these coaches who have provided exemplary mentorship to student-athletes on and off the field.

Two finalists will be selected and a winner will be announced this summer. Nike, a presenting partner, and the NFL Foundation will award $ 12,500 to award winner Don Shula, while the associated high school football program will receive $ 17,500. The second runner-up will receive $ 7,500 while the associated high school football program will receive $ 12,500. In addition, the other 30 finalists will each receive $ 1,000.

“It’s great to work with Nike and other partners to celebrate coaches and the positive influence they have on high school student-athletes,” said Roman Oben, vice president of football development at the NFL. “Congratulations to this year’s nominees, especially given the challenges presented over the past year”.

Three of this year’s nominees led their schools to a nationwide ranking in the High School Football America 100 2020-21 powered by Nfl play football, the NFL’s initiative to provide a fun and engaging experience for players of all ages and skill levels.

the Houston Texans named North Shore’s Jon Kay as Coach of the Year after the Mustangs played a game without defending their back-to-back Class 6A Division I titles. North Shore finished 8th in the Top 100 final after spending most of the 2020-21 season in first place.

Arizona CardinalsHigh school Coach of the Year Rick Garretson led Chandler to 17th place in our national standings after Wolves won the state open division. It was the Wolves’ fifth consecutive state championship.

Eric Moore of Center Grove is the Indianapolis Colts Coach of the year. Last year, Moore led the Trojans to a 6A State Championship and a No.15 ranking in our national rankings.

Nominated for 2021 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year.

Arizona Cardinals Rick garretson Chandler High School
Atlanta Falcons Derrick avery Booker T. Washington High School
Baltimore Ravens Emmanuel Glover Reginald F. Lewis High School
Bison Tickets Derek annechino Aquin Institute
Carolina Panthers Jupiter Wilson Hickory Ridge High School
Chicago Bear Robert Moynihan Harlem High School
Cincinnati Bengals Travis Pendleton Ironton
Cleveland browns Marty gibbons Catholic high school of the lake
Dallas Cowboys Rodney McLain Potet high school
Denver Broncos Zac Lemon Eaton High School
Detroit Lions Rob zimmerman Dewitt High School (MI)
Green Bay Packers Tom chase Randolph High School
Houston Texans Jon kay North Shore High School
Indianapolis Colts Eric Moore Center grove
Jacksonville Jaguars Adam geis Sandalwood High School
Kansas City Chiefs Tom radke Saint-Jacques Academy
Las Vegas Adventurers Jon hicks Las Vegas High School
Los Angeles Chargers Gabriel Arellano Montebello high school
The Los Angeles Rams Lorenzo Hernandez Garfield High School
Miami dolphins Earl Sims Gulliver Preparatory School
Minnesota Vikings Rex Metzger Hills-Beaver Creek High School
New England Patriots Manny Lopez Norwood High School
Saints of New Orleans Ryan Gregory Oak Grove High School
New York Giants Benjie Wimberly Hackensack High School (NJ)
New York Jets Robert gogerty Cedar Grove High School
Philadelphia Eagles Al crosby Saint John Neumann and Maria Goretti Catholic High School
Pittsburgh Steelers Marc Lyons Central Valley High School
San Francisco 49ers Joe bates Skyline High School
Seattle Seahawks Rick steele Hockinson High School
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Chris Davidson Ridge Community High School
Titans of Tennessee Keith henry Coalfield High School
Washington football team Eric ludden Massaponax high school

Past Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award Winners

2019 – Matt Land, Dalton HS (Georgia), nominated by the Atlanta Falcons

2018 – Gabe Infante, St. Joseph’s Prep (Pennsylvania), nominated by the Philadelphia Eagles

2017 – Robert Garrett, Crenshaw (Calif.), Nominated by the Los Angeles Chargers

2016 – Randy Allen, Highland Park, Texas, nominated by the Dallas Cowboys

2015 – Michael Burnett, Tuscarora (Virginia), nominated by the Washington football team

2014 – Bruce Larson, Somerset, Wisconsin, nominated by the Green Bay Packers

Bruce Larson talks about Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year award on HSFA radio show

2013 – Mike Grant, Eden Prairie (Minnesota), nominated by the Minnesota Vikings

Mike Grant talks about Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year award on HSFA radio show

2012 – Steve Specht, St. Xavier (Ohio), nominated by the Seattle Seahawks

2011 – John McKissick, Summerville, SC, nominated by the Carolina Panthers

2010 – Ray Seals, Madison (Texas), nominated by the Houston Texans


Comments are closed.