Who are the five most decorated players in the history of Real Madrid?


History was being made as Marcelo Viera and Karim Benzema climbed the steps of the Santiago Bernabeu presidential box to collect the 2021-22 La Liga trophy after Real Madrid beat Espanyol on April 30. After winning the Spanish Supercopa in January, the Brazilian equalized the Real Madrid legend Paco Gento as the player with the most trophies in club history.

Which player has won the most trophies in the history of Real Madrid?

After winning La Liga, Marcello became the most decorated player in Real Madrid history with 24 trophies to his name. His illustrious personal trophy cabinet contains four Champions League titles, four Club World Cups, three UEFA Super Cups, six league titles, two Copa del Rey trophies and five Spanish Super Cups.

He is in his 16th season in the Spanish capital and has made almost 550 appearances for Los Blancos. Real Madrid scored 38 goals in all competitions during his tenure at Real Madrid, including a strike in the UEFA Champions League final.

His former teammate and Madrid legend, Sergio Ramos, comes third in the list after Marcelo and Gento with 22 trophies. In 671 appearances, he scored 101 goals for the club, making him one of the most successful defenders of all time. His 93rd-minute equalizer against Atletico Madrid in the UEFA Champions League final in Lisbon (when the club won La Decima, i.e. their 10th Champions League trophy) could be seen as one of the most important goals in club history.

A Real Madrid youth product, Manolo Sanchis, comes fourth in the list after winning 21 trophies. He made his senior debut in 1982 and played nearly two decades for the same club until his retirement in 2001. Sanchis won two Champions League titles, an Intercontinental Cup and a Copa de la Liga each, two Cups UEFA, eight La Liga titles, two Copa del Rey Trophies and five Spanish Super Cups.

Karim Benzema, who has been in fine form this season, also has 21 trophies. He joined Olympique Lyonnais in 2009 and won his first trophy, the Copa del Rey, in the 2010-11 season. Since then, he has won four league titles, two Copa del Reys, four Spanish Super Cups and Champions Leagues each, three UEFA Super Cups and four other Club World Cups.


Comments are closed.